A Right Attitude Towards Waiting

Prov 17:22

A merry heart does good like a medicine: but a broken spirit dries the bones.

When we decide to embrace a positive attitude while we wait, it tends to open our eyes to possibilities we might not have considered.

Last month, I had traveled out of the city for an appointment. I had arrived much earlier and had to wait for a few hours before my appointment. Usually, I would have worried about the time I had to waste before my appointment. This time, I decided I would maximize the time I had and do the best I could with it. I decided to walk down to the area where I had my appointment, rather than take a cab to pass the time and get my exercise for the day and do some paper work I had leftover for a couple of months. Before I knew it, it was time for my appointment. When I got the the airport later that evening, I found that my plane was delayed for almost 2 hours. The thought of waiting for 2 more hours while I was already tired started to bring thoughts of frustrations to my mind. But I thought; what good would it do to stay frustrated for 2 hours. I decided to take the time to work on my blog and read a health document that I had procrastinated for a few weeks. Eventually, 2 hours had elapsed and it seemed like I had only been waiting for less than an hour. At the end of the day, I was very glad that I had made my time useful by doing things I needed to and enjoyed doing rather than sitting around.

Often in life, we have to wait for one thing or another. We are all going to have to wait at one time or another, whether we like it or not. It could be for a predetermined time as waiting for a plane or undetermined, as waiting to be called for a job interview or an answered prayer. Having the right attitude while waiting prevents the dreadfulness and frustration that is often associated with waiting.  Embracing an attitude that sees waiting as an opportunity rather than a setback can begin your journey to enjoying waiting. You might think its ridiculous to associate waiting with enjoyment, but it is possible with the right perspective.

For undetermined wait time; while waiting, rather than thinking of all the things you might be missing, how about focusing on the things that you could accomplish while you wait. Think about areas where you could prepare for things you are waiting for so they can be better enjoyed. And how about focusing on things that you enjoy doing at the time, rather than things you wish you could be doing. For predetermined wait times; they key is to prepare for such situations. Every time you go out, take a good book or have something inspirational on your phone that you can watch or listen to. It is also a good time to just stay silent, rest your mind from all the hustle and bustle of the day and listen to God.

Every time we have to wait is an opportunity to focus on what we have and to prepare us for what we are going to get. Remember that when we wait on God for something, He never forgets His children and He is preparing us to gives us His best 🙂

Leave a Reply

